Faculty

Carolyn Abbate, Chair

Paul and Catherine Buttenwieser University Professor
Historical Musicology
201S
617-495-2791

Charrise Barron

Assistant Professor of Music

Jessica Bodner

Preceptor, Parker Quartet
jessicabodner@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building Room A
617-998-5300

Claire Chase

Professor of the Practice (on leave 2022-23)
chase@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building
617-495-2791

Daniel Chong

Preceptor, Parker Quartet
danielchong@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building Room A
617-998-5300

Andrew Clark

Senior Lecturer on Music, Director of Choral Activities
agclark@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building G-7
617-495-8827

Suzannah Clark

Morton B. Knafel Professor of Music Theory
sclark@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building G-6
617-495-4009

Federico Cortese

Senior Lecturer on Music, Conductor of the Harvard-Radcliffe Orchestra
fcortese@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building G-5
617-495-1533

Chaya Czernowin

Walter Bigelow Rosen Professor of Music
Graduate Advisor in Composition
chayaczernowin@gmail.com
Music Building 308N
617-495-3647

Ken Hamao

Preceptor, Parker Quartet
ken_hamao@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building Room A
617-998-5300

Christopher Hasty

Walter W. Naumburg Professor of Music Theory
hasty@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 3
617-495-2692

Vijay Iyer

Franklin D. and Florence Rosenblatt Professor of the Arts
Creative Practice and Critical Inquiry (on leave 2021-22)
vijayiyer@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building G-19
617-496-4304

Yvette Janine Jackson

Assistant Professor
Graduate Advisor in Creative Practice and Critical Inquiry (2021-22)
yvette_jackson@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 303-S

Joseph R. Jakubowski

Lecturer
joseph_jakubowski@fas.harvard.edu
Office: 307N
617-495-1531

Kee-Hyun Kim

Preceptor, Parker Quartet
keehyunkim@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building Room A
617-998-5300

Toru Momii

Assistant Professor of Music

Ingrid Monson

Quincy Jones Professor of African American Music, supported by the Time Warner Endowment
Graduate Advisor in Ethnomusicology 
imonson@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 202 S 
617-384-7740

Landon Morrison

Lecturer, Director of Undergraduate Studies
landonmorrison@fas.harvard.edu
Office: 306N
617-495-3230

Carol J. Oja

William Powell Mason Professor of Music
Historical Musicology
coja@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 203 S
617-495-3971

Alexander Rehding

Fanny Peabody Professor of Music
Graduate Advisor in Theory
Theory
arehding@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 305 N
617-496-6646

Kay Kaufman Shelemay

G. Gordon Watts Professor of Music
Professor, African and African American Studies; American Studies
Director of Graduate Studies
Ethnomusicology
shelemay@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 7
617-495-4008

Photo: Bill Dougart

Anne C. Shreffler

James Edward Ditson Professor of Music
Affiliate, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
Graduate Advisor in Musicology
Historical Musicology
acshreff@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 301S
617-494-7742

Esperanza Spalding

Professor of the Practice, spring 2021
Performance
evakim@fas.harvard.edu
617-495-2791

Photo: Bill Dougart

Yosvany Terry

Senior Lecturer on Music / Director of Jazz Bands
yosvanyterry@fas.harvard.edu
Office: G-9
617-495-9040

Photo: Bill Dougart

Hans Tutschku

Fanny P. Mason Professor of Music, Director of the Harvard University Studio for Electroacoustic Composition (HUSEAC)
(on leave, Spring 21)
Composition
tutschku@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building G-3
617-495-2314

Michael Uy

Lecturer on Music / Resident Dean, Dunster House
michaeluy@fas.harvard.edu
617-495-2263

Photo credit: Ella Sophie Photography

Kate van Orden

Dwight P. Robinson, Jr. Professor of Music (on leave 21–22)
Historical Musicology
vanorden@fas.harvard.edu
Music Building 204 S
617-495-3198

Richard K. Wolf

Professor of Music, Professor of of South Asian Studies
Ethnomusicology
rwolf@fas.harvard.edu
richardkwolf.com
Office: 031 Memorial Hall
Mailing address: Music Building / Harvard University / Cambridge, MA 02138

Visiting Faculty 2022-23

Andrew Schultz – Gough Whitlam and Malcolm Fraser Visiting Professor of Australian Studies

Michèle Duguay – Visiting Assistant Professor

Daniel Callahan – Associate Visiting Professor (Fall 2022)

Lisa Harris – Lecturer on Music (Fall 2022)

Yaure Muniz – Lecturer on Music (Fall 2022)